I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

3 ways things have changed from a year ago

1.A year ago…
Jack: Can I have breakfast??
me: Sure. What do you want?
Jack: Cereal.
me: (I get him a bowl and he reads while eating)

Today…
me: (still in bed) Did you eat?
Jack: Yeah I ate two bowls of cereal and some banana bread. I already played legos for an hour. Oh, and I watched a video while I ate.
me: Grunt.

2.
A year ago…
Jack: Want to play with me?
me: Okay, just let me put the plates and food away.
Jack: (whining) You always have to do stuff first!!!
me: Jack, I’m hurrying! The cats will get this if I don’t put it away. Sheesh.

Today…
me: Do you want me to come up and play legos with you?
Jack: Sooo not happening. (slam)

3.
A year ago...
Jack: Can you call my friend so we can have a play date?
me: Let me talk to his Mom first. We have to coordinate. I have to find a few hours when I’m free.
Jack: You don’t have to stay with me!
me: I don’t really know his parents, so I’m gonna stay while you play with your friend. Or you can invite him over here.

Today…
me: Are you going over your friend’s house?
Jack: Be back at 5:30! (he yells as he’s going out the door to hop on his bike and ride a few houses down to his friend’s house)
(The cats and I stare at each other)

Anyone else noticing the same thing? :) I looked back to find a post from last year that I could reference. This is a good one. We still have that same morning song and dance going on, though Jack is much more independent. I still trip over nerf guns in the hallway.

2 responses

  1. Bie

    Noooo!! This is all happening too fast. So now he’s allowed to go to his friends’ houses all by himself. In a few years, they’ll be watching the movies, going to the mall all by themselves.

    November 24, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    • Tell me about it! Way too fast. He rides his bike to his friend’s house, though I have him call when he gets there and sometimes I drive him and pick him up. Yeah. Free time for me. Who woulda thought!

      December 6, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 458 other followers