I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Boy’s got moves

And I don’t mean Tae Kwon Do!

This morning I double checked Jack’s backpack and found a small folded up piece of paper in one of the front pockets. Hmmmm. Now what would he be putting in there? I unfolded it… stopped, stunned, then laughed out loud so hard that the cats went scrambling for cover!

Here’s what it said (in childish scrawl) “Lea 203-221-1235” or some phone number to that effect.

me: Hey Jack! What is this paper all about?
Jack: Oh, that’s just Lea’s phone number.
me: Lea who?
Jack: Lea across the street? Remember?
me: Really? I didn’t think you ever talked to her. When did she give you her phone number?
Jack: Today on the bus. I sat with her.
me: What about Logan? I thought you sat with him?
Jack: Not today.
me: What are you gonna do with Lea’s phone number?
Jack: (looking like I have 3 heads) Uh, call her sometime? (he sauntered out of the room)

I put the note in my pocket and after all the kids got on the bus I pulled Lea’s mom aside.

me: Check this out.
Mom: (blank look for a second) What the…?
me: Yep. Jack got Lea’s number.
Mom: She did not say one word about that to me. That’ too funny!
me: I know! I was like what did he do…ask for the number or did she offer it up? Ha ha ha!
Mom: The kid already has some moves, at what…5?
me: Yeah. Sigh.

Dennis laughed and said, oh boy, wait til he hits high school. I can’t even imagine!

And on a quick side note, at dinner tonight, we had this little exchange:

Jack: Mom, when you and Dad are too old to live here anymore…
me: (!!) Yeahhhh…???
Jack: Can you give this house to me?
me: Then where would we live?
Jack: (dismissively) Oh, wherever…
me: But this is our house too. Can we stay here?
Jack: Ok, but I have to own the house.

Oh for Pete’s sake, do I need this already? Let me hit 42 first Jack, okay? Before you start selling me down the river. Or is it up the river? Sheesh.

One response

  1. LOL!

    September 3, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

