I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Sad Ed

Jack: (climbing into my bed today) Mom, Ed’s sad.

me: He is? Why?

Jack: He misses Lilly. (Lilly was our cat that passed away the year I got pregnant with Jack)

me: Oh sweetie, do you think so?

Jack: Yes. Sighhhh. I feel bad.

me: It’s okay, we’ll be extra nice to him today.

This conversation took place hours ago, and just a few minutes ago I realized that today is the anniversary of Lilly’s death. It didn’t even occur to me at the time, and Jack had no way of knowing it either.

Come to think of it, Jack always did have a special bond with Ed.

Leave a Reply

