I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

An Ambulance and a Policeman

No it’s not what you’re thinking. We’re all FINE! Jack and I were driving to Tae Kwon Do yesterday morning and he saw an ambulance and a police officer at Dunkin Donuts. I mean, what are the odds of seeing a policeman at a coffee shop?

Jack: Mom! Look! An ambulance!

me: Where???

I Craned my neck and listened for sirens. The last time an ambulance snuck up on me was about 20 years ago. Actually longer. I was a new 5-speed driver and still getting the feel of the clutch. Unfortunately I ended up in a busy intersection with an ambulance careening towards me, sirens blaring. “AHHHHH!” I yelled to no one. I stalled the car right in the middle of the road. The ambulance had to stop and wait while I herked and jerked across the road. I heard the loudspeaker come on with a crackle. “Ma’ammmmmmm! Would you please DO SOMETHING!!”. The ambulance driver shouted at me. I’ll never forget those words. I got the car out of the way and hopefully someone did not lose a life because I couldn’t shift from 1st to 2nd. Anyway, do you see something of a phobia here??

Jack: Oh, it’s not coming toward us. It’s parked. (he points to D n D) And now I know what I want to be when I grow up.

me: You do? An ambulance driver?

Jack: (somewhat disgustedly) Uh NOOOOO???? A policeman.

me: What does an ambulance have to do with a policeman?

Jack: Because there’s a policeman right NEXT to the ambulance.

me: (I whip my head back and make sure I’m not going through a yellow light. Heh heh. That’s a whole OTHER story. Me and the cops.) Whew. He’s getting coffee.

Jack: They help people right?

me: Yeah, they do. That’s a tough job though.

Jack: Um, I’m headed to do actual tae kwon DO! I think that’s a bit TOUGHER???

me: (oh boy)

One response

  1. Clever little Jack may be on to something there. How many cops know Tae Kwon Do? Too funny!

    Like

    February 7, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

