I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Why can’t Bella lay some kittens?

Jack: Mom, will Bella ever have kittens?

me: No. She was, uh, fixed so that she can’t have any.

Jack: What’s “fixed”?

me: An operation that makes her not able to have babies.

Jack: Awwwww, now I’m really sad Mommy!

me: It’s a lot better that way sweetie. We don’t want all these kittens to be born and then not have anywhere to live. It’s sadder for them.

Jack: Why couldn’t Bella just lay a few kittens… I mean, hahaha I said LAY like an egg. I mean why couldn’t she have a few kittens and THEN you put the thing on her that makes the babies stop??

me: We knew we only wanted to have these kitties, and not any more. It’s hard work and it’s expensive. And, even if Bella could have kittens, she wouldn’t be able to have any because kittens need a Daddy cat as well.

Jack: What about Ed?

me: Well, Ed also had an operation to take out his baby-making parts.

Jack: I don’t understand what Ed has to do with anything. Bella could just pick another Daddy cat.

me: But she lives in our house so she doesn’t go near any other boy cats.

Jack: I don’t get why they have to be NEAR each other.

me: (uh oh) Let’s just say they at least have to be in the same room. Bella isn’t in the same room with any other cats, and Ed is fixed, so he can’t be a Daddy.

Jack: Why do you keep calling it “fixed” when it sounds like you made them broken.

me: Hm. Good point.

4 responses

  1. John

    They’re broken alright and aren’t they brother and sister anyway

    February 14, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    • Nah, they’re not technically related. Bella is 2 years younger. Different mom and dad. I know because I did the family tree cat flow chart. Sigh, I had time to do weird things before kids.

      February 14, 2011 at 11:45 pm

  2. Emily

    Uh-oh, good thing you were able to avoid the awkward conversation, haha.

    Ps – you actually did a family tree cat flow chart?! Oh, debi…

    February 16, 2011 at 8:14 am

  3. Oh, did I actually admit that? Yes, we lived right near the stray lot in our old house. We got to know all the cats and when they had kittens. Of course I took lots of pics. Then I had the family tree idea. haha. It was then I realized I was ready to have kids. 🙂

    February 16, 2011 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

