I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Shouts from his room

Jack was in his room reading. I was downstairs. Every now and then the door would open and he would yell out a question. I had no idea what the questions had to do with one another, but he was reading the 2nd Diary of a Wimpy Kid book. Probably a bit too old for him?

Jack: (yelling over the railing) MOM! When you’re old do you forget how old you really are?

me: Not really! Sometimes…WHY?!

(slam!)

A few minutes later the door opens again…

Jack: MOMMMM! When you’re older can you quit school if you want????!!!

me: NO!

(slam!)

Door opens again, little footsteps running…

Jack: HEY MOM!!! Will Dad ever throw anything at me if he’s MAD???!!

me: Let’s hope not!! Hey what are all the questions for?!!!

(slam!)

me: Sigh…

This goes on for awhile. Finally I call him downstairs for dinner.

me: Jack, what the heck were all those questions?

Jack: I’m trying to figure out old people.

me: You mean like me and Daddy?

Jack: Yeah. They do weird things in this book and I wanted to see if it was real.

me: Try not yelling down so much okay? You can come down and ask me anything. I’ll always give you the best answer that I can.

Jack: Yeah, if you can REMEMBER the best answer. Hahahahahahaaaaa!

me: Sigh.

2 responses

  1. Fox4649

    Just let him start reading Steven King. That should answer all his questions about adults.

    Like

    February 17, 2011 at 10:19 am

    • I’m actually reading an SK now…Full Dark, No Stars and I’m worried that Jack will pick it up and look at it. It’s a gory mess!

      Like

      February 17, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

