I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

I’m not a normal mom

Like I need to tell you that. Have you not read anything I’ve posted in the last year? Jack has just started to realize that I’m not like other moms. I’m taking it as a compliment, because it makes me feel better that way. 🙂

We’re at the Cape (Cod) and generally just enjoying the weather, the sun, the beach and OMG the crowds! Do not EVER come to Cape Cod over 4th of July weekend. Am I high? Yep. We normally do not come out here “on season”. We are totally off-season people. I’ll tell you, the 2nd week of September is SUBLIME! It is the closest thing to perfection that I’ve found in a vacation. Stunning weather, robin’s-egg blue skies, warm ocean and pond water, NO CROWDS, and things are still open. But this week, wellllll, it’s still all of the above except throw in 10,000 people from NY and NJ, and you’ll see where we’re at.

We went to the beach, went to the playground and skate park, and generally had a fun time and ate some awesome seafood and icecream…just like you would expect on a vacation like this. But why am I not normal? Read on…

Jack: I can’t believe I’m actually going in a real skate  park.

me: You have to put on your helmet and pads first, okay?

Jack: Okay. I want to go on that big ramp!

me: You have to learn how to move forward first. Try that.

Jack gives it a few tries and then flips his board with his foot and gives everyone his best cool-dude face. It was so cute. He liked the sound of the board flipping on the concrete. It was a “cool” sound.

me: Here let me try.

Jack: Mommmmm… (looks around warily)

me: (pushing off) See? I know how to ride…

Jack: Did you used to ride a skate board?

me: I used to ROCK on a skate board.

Jack: Wow, really? That’s not a normal Mom thing…

me: Nope it isn’t.

Then we went over to the playground to, well, play! Jack wanted to play hide-and-seek, so I counted and he hid.

me: Ready or not!

Jack: (giggling from on top of the highest enclosed slide)

me: Gotcha! (I had climbed to the top and scared the pants off of him)

Jack: How did you get up here?

me: I climbed.

Jack: Moms don’t go on slides Mom!

me: This one does. Now move it or lose it.

Jack: (scrambles out of the way)

me; FIRE IN THE HOLE! (I blast down the slide at a speed that almost blew my flip-flops off)

Jack: What the heck? That’s not normal Mom!

me: Well I’m going back up.That was fun.

Jack: Me too! Most mommies are sitting on the benches.

He proceeds to chase me down the slide a few times until we got tired. I climbed the rock wall, and the various ladders and hanging climbing thingys in flip flops may I remind you again! On the walk back to the house Jack got tired.

Jack: Mom, can I have a ride on your shoulders?

me: Ugh, too tired and you’re too big!

Jack: But all moms say that. (He looks at me to see if I want to continue with my coolness factor and give him a ride)

me: Sorry, no way. You’ll crush my shoulders with your 50 pound self.

Jack: 52.8 pounds.

me: Sorry. Guess I’m not that cool after all eh? Now get out of the road before a car squashes you. (and nerdy boring mom is back.)

10 responses

  1. Sounds like fun… but did you hurt yourself on the skateboard? I know you and the odds are pretty good!
    : )

    July 2, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    • LOL! I’m fine…Though in Provincetown Jack was walking and trying to hold his skateboard, and he tripped and fell into a guy. I turned around to tell him to be careful and I tripped and fell into another guy! What mayhem…

      July 4, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  2. That was a great story. I hope I can play with my kids like this. And he is right, I see other moms sitting on the bench. I guess that is why my nieces and nephews love me so much cause I’m up there playing around with them. I’m already pushing 30 and my level of energy is going further and further down the hole…sooooo I hope my kiddies come fast and as in fast I mean right now. Again great post. Put a smile on my face. :0)

    July 3, 2011 at 2:18 am

    • Pushing 30! I would kill to push 30 again ha ha. I’m on the fast slide into (shit!) 50! OMG I need to sit down. My brain isn’t aware that I am that old. Anyway Jack didn’t arrive until I was 36, so there’s hope for you! Good luck!

      July 4, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      • I remember when I was younger (before I was at the age to have kids) I was like I don’t want to have kids after I’m 30…and now that I’ll be 30 next year I am DEF going to have to change that number…hehe :0)

        July 4, 2011 at 6:29 pm

      • Yeah, back then 30 was like dinosaur old!

        July 5, 2011 at 10:44 am

  3. Abnormal moms rule. I too am one. We went camping this weekend and Noah called me over to tell some bratty girl that he was in fact 11, not SEVEN like she insisted (brat). I told her, “He’s 11-1/2. He’ll be 12 in September. He starts 6th grade in September.” Her response to my 40-year-old butt? “Whatever. I still don’t believe you.” With as little maturity as I could muster, fiercely defending me shorter but not THAT short almost 12-year-old, I responded, “Well you’ve gotta problem! I could give a shit WHAT you think. It doesn’t change how old he is. I gave birth to him so I know. Go away.”

    That’s normal, right?

    July 3, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    • LMAO! You’re totally mature for your age. Ha ha! I woulda done the same thing. Brat.

      July 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  4. How much fun you two have!!! Yay for both of you! I can completely see the whole scene, and I know you were the envy of all those “bench Moms”!

    July 6, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    • Ha ha! Yay us! You should have seen me this morning on the playground playing restaurant and getting myself stuck in the twisty enclosed slide (which was our food delivery portal). Exhausting but awesome.

      July 6, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

