I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

How a 6-year-old talks on the phone

me: Hi Baby! How was your day??

Jack: Hi Mom! It was good…you know…we did a lot today like going to the beach and then going for lunch to the same place we went to dinner last night.

me: The place that made you throw up?

Jack: Oh, no the other place that we went to with you that had the steep beach. We saw seals in the water and then we went to Mayo beach for awhile again.

me: (talking at the same time as Jack) Did you skateboard?

Jack: How am I supposed to talk if you keep ignoring me?

me: Not ignoring, we just spoke at the same time Jack. It’s okay. Did you skateboard?

Jack: No not yet, it was too hot when we went there. We’re in front of the ice cream place now and we’re going into town to try and find something for me to eat.

me: It’s a little late no?

Jack: It’s only 6:56! Plenty of time!

me: Oh, sorry. Well have fun! I miss you so much!

Jack: Ummmm, love you and miss you and hope you have a good night and…

me: (blowing a kiss) Give me a kiss back.

Jack: And love you and miss you and I’ll see you in a day and a half…

me: How about a kiss?

Jack: (smooches the air)

me: How about you get in the car and come home right now…?

Jack: Wellll, it would be very late by then…

me: I’m only kidding. Why don’t you go skate right now?

Jack: Nahh, I’m getting food now. Soooo, love you and miss you and see you soon!

me: Okay sweetie, you’ve got the lines down, don’t you?

Jack: Lines?

me: Your goodbye line. It’s cute.

Jack: Okay see you. Love you!

And now I get to fill another night without Jack. Sheesh. You don’t realize how much you miss the chaos until it’s completely gone. I could use a little shouting or spilling or tripping over a pile of toys right now.

 

6 responses

  1. When Noah was gone to Florida for a WEEK with my parents I left the glass on the kitchen counter that he leaves every day and it drives me nuts. When they’re gone it doesn’t bother us so much.

    Like

    July 7, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    • Yes a week would about kill me at this point. 😦 But, on the bright side, I’m cleaning his room and he’s not here to complain about a thing!

      Like

      July 8, 2011 at 8:57 am

  2. I can send my dogs and my son, he is 24 but still noisy.
    LOL
    Go take a hot bath, for an hour.
    Have a glass of wine.
    ; )

    Like

    July 7, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    • I chose to workout like a madwoman yesterday. Whew. Even my knees are sore today. 🙂 Dogs, yes, but I’ll skip the 24-year-old, they’re worse than 6 year olds! LOL!

      Like

      July 8, 2011 at 8:59 am

  3. It is TOO quiet when they are gone. It bring out your crazy side too, especially when you swear you can here them moving around the house or in my case still automatically put cartoons on the TV

    Like

    July 8, 2011 at 3:40 am

    • Yes exactly! I woke up last night because I thought he was calling me. Amazing that we used to live with this silence before having kids. I don’t know how people can do it. 🙂

      Like

      July 8, 2011 at 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

