I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Even when you can sleep in, you can’t really sleep in

Jack stayed at his dad’s place for the first time this weekend. (yep, he’s no longer living here). I was having mixed feelings about the whole thing, but overall I knew Jack would have a fun time, so therefore I didn’t worry too much. I had to get a grip on actually having FREE time. That is a very strange concept, since the last 6.5 years I’ve been on 24/7 Mom-duty. It’s a hard habit to break.

At 7am this morning my eyes flew open and I thought I overslept. For what you ask? Who knows! Internal clock has been set to wake between 6 and 7am for as long as I can remember. I expected Jack to come crashing down the stairs and into my room. But the house was quiet. I heard Ed meowing for his breakfast and Bella jiggling the doorknob trying to get in. That was it. Then I called Jack.

Jack: Hi Mom!

me: Hi Sweetie! Did you have a good night? Sorry I didn’t talk to you before you fell asleep.

Jack: That’s okay, we had to get everything set up and guess what! Dad has XBox 360.

me: Yeah I know.

Jack: I played Cars!

me: Cool. What time did you get up this morning?

Jack: Oh about 6am, I don’t remember.

me: I miss you.

Jack: Miss you love you and hope you had a good day and I’m going to play angry birds now and I already ate breakfast!

me: Take a breath.

Jack: Okay, bye, miss you love you.

me: Me too.

And there you have it. I survived the first weekend. So then I fell back to sleep (WHAT??) until almost 10am. Then woke up crippled from yesterday’s workout with TONY HORTON! Oh yeah!!!!! It’s a good pain. But I can’t wait to get my little boy back in this house to ramp up the mayhem. Ed just stares at me and then messes up the papers on my desk, and Bella continues to cough up hairballs all over the place. I’m losing my mind without the normal 6-year-old-boy craziness!

4 responses

  1. Brush Bella more so she stops eating so much fur. Then re-insert the 6-year-old into the population.

    Like

    September 18, 2011 at 12:56 pm

  2. You know, I’ve often wondered about Jack’s dad because your details are always so sketchy and I’m – well – nosy (duh). Good for you. Noah’s first time at his ex-dad’s house was the hardest day of my entire life and so were the next two times.

    Alas there have been no others.

    And yes, I’m bitter but not because I WANT him to but because his ex-dad should.

    The end.

    Yay Mommy!!!

    Like

    September 18, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    • It’s funny you say that, because I’ve often wondered if people … wonder. 🙂 It’s been very calm around here and I love that.

      Like

      September 18, 2011 at 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

