I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Are aliens real?

Now of course I’m going to say no. What would you say to a 6-year-old just before bed?

Jack: I’m scared of the dark again.

me: I thought you were okay with the nightlight and glowing planets on the ceiling?

Jack: That might be part of the problem. I’m worried about aliens.

me: Oh I don’t think you have to worry about something that isn’t real.

Jack: What about phantoms? Or phantom aliens?

me: Not real.

Jack: Why does my book talk about UFOs and the Bermuda Triangle then? Are they not real too?

me: I’ve never seen either of those things and I’ve been around a LONG time.

Jack: But the phantoms have the scariest face that’s sort of a ghost and sort of an alien.

me: Are you getting this from the Halloween catalogs that are piling up in the kitchen?

Jack: Yeah because why would they make a costume if it wasn’t of something real??

me: Just for entertainment of course! Did you see the human pizza slice costume?

Jack: (giggles) Yeah…

me: Do you think there are giant pizza slices wandering around the neighborhood?

Jack: Maybe? I mean, no. But pizza is a REAL thing. That’s what I mean.

me: Wait a minute. I thought you were Big Foot these days. So aren’t people afraid of YOU?

Jack: Oh yeah! I forgot. Ha ha!  That’s you just doing your Mom thing again!

me: (I pat myself on the back…) Glad I could help.

Jack: I guess they write about aliens just to mess with our heads.

4 responses

  1. We have this conversation quite a bit in our house, although it is aliens one day, then ghosts the next. Lately, the conversations have increased with Halloween looming in the not to distent future. Great post!

    Like

    October 8, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    • Yes Halloween has definitely brought the alien discussions to the foreground! I wonder at what age he will actually want to dress up as something scary? So far it’s been benign stuff…

      Like

      October 8, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  2. Deb

    I have the same conversation with my kids. I tell them how there are other planets out there and billions upon billions of stars…it’s possible. It’s good they think outside their little world. Don’t you think?

    Like

    November 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    • Definitely. Some day, they’ll be running this planet…so best to be informed about it all!

      Like

      November 19, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

