I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Time for the hearing aid…almost…

Phone calls with Jack are always entertaining. And I mean always. If I’m listening to him talk to someone, I am thoroughly entertained by his side of the conversation. And if I’m on the receiving end of a call from Jack, well that’s just something else altogether. Sort of a cross between entertainment and me getting berated because I’m not a mind reader.

me: Hi!

Jack: Hi Mom! I called you.

me: I know. Sorry, I just turned the phone on. What’s going on?

Jack: Oh, nothing much, I’m at Dad’s.

me: Yeah? Having any fun?

Jack: Not right now.

me: Do you have some fun things planned for today?

Jack: (garbled) Maybe…

me: What? I couldn’t hear that…

Jack: (more garbling) Maybe!

me: Sorry, did you say Babies?

Jack: MAYBE!! (now the phone’s in his mouth)

me: Uh…(pause) can you move away from the phone a bit and try again, I can’t really hear you.

Jack: (from across the room) maybe…!!

me: How about closer than that. Sigh. Never mind.

Jack: I! SAID! MAYBE!

me: Oh I heard you now. So maybe what? I forgot what the heck I asked you ha ha.

Jack: If you can’t hear on the phone, maybe you shouldn’t talk on the phone.

me: Nice. It’s the signal sweetie, sometimes it cuts out.

Jack: Don’t you know when I say Maybe I mean Maybe?

me: But I couldn’t hear you, so I didn’t know that. So what do you think you’ll do today?

Jack: (Big sigh…he ignores me out of frustration) Okay well love you miss you and see you soon!

 

Maybe I should just text him?

4 responses

  1. Talking on the phone to my kids is just as frustrating. They only half pay attention and forget to talk into the receiver most of the time.
    Often when they talk to their grandparents on the phone, they say “bye” into the air after handing the phone to me so when I get on the phone the grandparents are still talking to them (not knowing that they haven’t had an audience for a while). I love coming on and saying “sorry, I think they said bye!”

    Like

    November 20, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    • I go through the same thing. When Jack talks to his Dad I sometimes see the phone on the counter squawking, while Jack’s in the other room. I guess Jack failed to mention to his caller that he has said “bye” and left the room! SIGH!

      Like

      November 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  2. Not sure how I am supposed to pass this on so I am just going to do this.

    : )

    http://psychowatcher.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/the-liebster-blog-award/

    Like

    November 21, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    • OOOOOooohhh what’s this?? I will have to go and check it out. Anything with the word “award” is exciting to me! Thanks!

      Like

      November 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Leave a Reply

