I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

What’s the Z-word? And does my cooking deserve such a name?

Jack: What’s the “C” word? Oh yeah, I know that…(I gasp) It’s “crap”. heh heh.

me: Watch it mister.

Jack: I know the “A” word. Right? It’s the donkey name. Ass.

me: Heyyyy…

Jack: Is there a “B” word?

me: There’s pretty much a word for every letter in the alphabet.

Jack: Why do we call it the letter?

me: Because it’s not polite to go around using bad words.

Jack: Then why were they invented?

me: Uh… I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

Jack: What’s the “Z” word.

me: Zipit.

Jack: (thinks) Heeyyyy, that’s not real! And by the way, I’m not eating any of that Zipping pasta you just made.

me: We’ll see about that!

So here’s the pasta I made tonight. Winter vegetable pasta with kale and parmesan. And a little white wine. I got the recipe from that lovely little Freshly Pressed blog The Scrumptious Pumpkin. Yummy! And, Jack ate most of it…so THERE!

Saute in EVOO: butternut squash, carrots, onion, garlic, thyme, salt, pepper until soft. Then add kale and wine!

Dump in cooked pasta and tons of parmesan! (the good kind) Plus some pasta water as needed.

Serve it up with more cheese. Devour hungrily. Go back for seconds.

8 responses

  1. I think I’m going to start using that Z word. And I’m definitely looking up that recipe!

    Like

    February 19, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    • Jack has already started a trend around here with saying “prove it” so maybe he’s on to something with this too!

      Like

      February 23, 2012 at 5:09 am

  2. Looks yummy!

    Like

    February 20, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    • It wasn’t too bad actually! When I make it again I will use shallots as per the original recipe (I didn’t have any) and let the veggies sauté longer. I was hungry and impatient. 🙂

      Like

      February 23, 2012 at 5:11 am

  3. This looks delicious! I’m going to have to try this. I love white wine in pasta dishes 😀

    Like

    February 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    • Omg so do I. I’ll have to make and blog about the naked chef recipe I love for pasta and potatoes. Sooo good!

      Like

      February 23, 2012 at 5:12 am

  4. Yummm! That looks awesome. Gotta love cooking with wine…
    A little for the pasta, a little for me… little more for the pasta, a-lotta more for me!

    Like

    February 22, 2012 at 11:03 am

    • Yes indeed! My ex once made me penne ala vodka and when I arrived home he was plastered and the pasta was all dried out lol!

      Like

      February 23, 2012 at 5:14 am

Leave a Reply

