I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Moon landing, slavery, and a 7-year-old that needs some answers

Jack has been asking me some interesting questions…and he is genuinely interested in the answers. Plus, he will drive me crazy until I give him the details he wants.

Jack: Sooo, you were born 1 year BEFORE we landed on the moon?

me: Uh…Yep.

Jack: You didn’t get to watch it on TV then?

me: No, I was a tiny baby.

Jack: Eww! It was very important that we landed on the moon before it turned to 1970. I read that.

me: The president made a promise to the country that we would land in the 60’s so he tried really hard to make that happen.

Jack: Oh. Well he was smart then because it DID happen.

me: I guess so.

Jack: Were you alive when we had slaves?

me: No, that was a little before my time.

Jack: Well it wasn’t THAT far before you.

me: Thanks.

Jack: If we didn’t have the civil war, then there would probably be no more brown skinned people in the whole world right?

me: Well…  No…I don’t think they all would have disappeared. The civil war was about a lot of issues, not just slaves, but I guess that was the most important issue. Either way we’re glad that slavery ended.

Jack: But the war helped stop slavery right?

me: Yes, eventually it did.

Jack: If I was brown skinned I would be mad. But I would like Abraham Lincoln.

me: I can understand that. (I see his wheels are still turning)

Jack: Are we glad that we’re white skinned?

me: I never really thought about it like that. We can’t pick what we are, we just kind of show up and whatever color we are, well that’s what we are.

Jack: That’s just really weird…we should be able to pick… right?

me: I’m good with the way things are done now.

Jack: What about cars? Were you around when the first one was invented?

me: Grrrrr!

4 responses

  1. Next thing he’ll ask is what kind of dinosaur you had as a pet!
    LOL

    April 22, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    • I must seem as old as dust to him!! 🙂

      April 22, 2012 at 11:40 pm

  2. Do you owe Moses a dollar?

    April 27, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    • I’m really that old. 🙂

      April 28, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

