I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

How the semicolon pisses off a 7-year old

This is an older post that I kept forgetting to use! Jack sometimes sneaks onto my blog his blog and then chastises me on how my details are wrong or how that absolutely did NOT happen last night, or whatever. So I guess now I’m protecting myself in case he does read this. Yikes how far we’ve come on this little blog. What started as shitmy5yearoldsays has turned into shitmy7yearoldsaysandthenreadsonlineandthenpointsoutallwritingerrorstohismom. Dot wordpress dot com.

This is funny because I just finished reading King Rat. But anyway. Apparently the semicolon is the most feared punctuation mark out there. So I’m told. I’m sure we could all use a refresher on how best to use this little guy.

Jack: I have to write BOTH sides of my weekend news. I didn’t finish it so I have to make it up at home. How the heck am I gonna DO this??? (he grabs his hair with both hands in anguish)

me: You only have like 3 more sentences to write, Jack, so calm down. Just fill in some other things you did. You waste more time freaking out about it.

Jack: (starts writing a thought down) I can just make this a really really long sentence with commas, okay?

me: (peeking over his shoulder) You might need some other punctuation in there buddy. That’s pretty long.

Jack: Okay okay! What’s the thing with a comma and a dot? Is that a weird quotes mark or something? Can I put that in here?

me: You have to put it where it goes…like in between two thoughts that are sort of connected, so they’re in the same sentence, but are actually independent of each other. It helps avoid confusion.

Jack: I meant WHAT’s IT CALLED!

me: Sheesh, calm down, you didn’t say that. I’m just trying to help. It’s called a semicolon.

Jack: (stops in mid rant and looks at me calmly) What’s that…Chinese for something?

me: Sigh…

And this is funny because we went to a Godzilla birthday party yesterday. For realz. Jack will concur.

Leave a Reply

