I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Calming bedtime talks of … what’s the point of anything

me: I can’t believe you finished the third book. (Harry Potter) Tell me a quick summary since you read most of it yourself. I’m out of the loop. (I see his look) Yes, I know I read the book before but that was a decade ago.

Jack: Sirius escapes and Lupin is a werewolf.

me: That’s concise. Thanks. Ok. Lets go watch the movie. (I let Jack see the movie only after he finishes each book. You’ve never seen a kid read so fast.)

(Later, in Jack’s bedroom…getting ready to start the next book)

Jack: The movie was awesome! Apple TV has everything.

me: For a price, yeah.

Jack: Oh no. (flipping to the end of book 4)

me: Gah! Don’t read the ending for Pete’s sake!

Jack: I’m not. I just saw it has over 700 pages! Whoa… And, I like to read the first word and the last word of every book I read.

me: 700? Better get started then… (We read the first chapter and then I tuck Jack in and rub his back a little)

Jack: Sigh… Do you ever ask yourself what’s the point? Like why are we even born if we only die anyway?

me: (uh oh) Well… We get to spend happy times with the people we love…and…

Jack: (not impressed with my explanation) Yeah yeah. I’m asking What is the point of LIFE!

me: (mouth opening and closing like a fish) Uhhh…

Jack: So THEN, ask yourself what is the point of getting SHOTS when you turn 9??!!

me: (Ahh, the real question. I look over and see that he’s already asleep.)

5 responses

  1. Oooh, I love your son’s questions!!! I mean, I can’t wait for my kids to start asking those kinds of questions–even though I’m not sure what I would say either. My 5 year old tends to ask questions like “will you be very, very sad if I were to die and would you think about me everyday?”….that’s a little too morbid for me.

    March 4, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    • I’ve been posting from my phone and all of the comments don’t appear! Sorry! Yes the questions are sometimes funny, sometimes alarming eh? Just do your best. ha ha.

      March 19, 2013 at 1:25 pm

  2. Bie

    What a reader!! When I was 8 all I can read were the Sweet Valley books. Harry Potter books cater not just to the young but even adults as well. Btw, what is Jack’s best/favorite subject in school?

    March 5, 2013 at 3:36 am

    • I totally read the Sweet Valley books! I think I was older than 8… Hmmm… It was funny, I was reading Harry Potter, what, 10 years ago? And my nephew who was 10 at the time was also reading them. Appealed to both of us, decades apart in age!

      March 19, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • Oh and fave subject is definitely science. Jack now wants to work for NASA, but NOT go into space. He’s too scared.

      March 19, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

