I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

The real apology letter…and some Legos…

Screen shot 2014-12-04 at 1.24.42 AM

Jack and I had a blowout yesterday. I asked him to select only one electronic device to take with him on the bus, not TWO. I stated this calmly and nicely. He proceeded to fall on the floor on his back, wearing his backpack, kicking and screaming, looking like a turtle that had lost its mind.

Not only did he lose BOTH electronics, plus all others, for a week, he had to write me an apology letter. After school, he was in a much better mood, so I reminded him of what transpired earlier in the day and that I expected the apology letter before he could go play with his Legos.

Here’s what I got. He was giggling when he gave it to me.

Jack: Dear mom, this morning you would only let me take one electronic, so I hit you with a stick and then i called you an Idiot. I’m sorry for what I have done, and I will not do it again. Next time, I will just take one electronic, and we will not go through the process of you being beat with a stick. Once again, I am sorry for what I have done, and I won’t do it again. And now, a word from our sponsors: PIE!

Sigh.

So I chuckled and said that, yes, he was clever and entertaining but now I needed the serious apology. To which…he … fell on the floor on his back screaming that he had just written the apology and that I had laughed so he was DONE with writing apologies.

I waited. I googled some stuff and played around online.

He wound it down a few minutes later when he realized that I was not paying attention to him in the least.

me: Are you all done?

Jack: Sniff… (glare)

me: I still need the real apology letter. It needs to be serious and I need to know that you’re not making a joke of this. It wasn’t nice this morning and I don’t want to go through that for such a silly request ever again. Go ahead and come back when you’re done.

Jack: (few minutes later). Here. It’s not as long. Can I go play now?

“Dear Mom, I realize that I may have made some bad choices this morning, I know that I did something wrong and I’m sorry for that.”

me: Okay. Go play and I’ll be up in a minute.

He ran upstairs and my phone rang. It was his friend. Jack came back down and told his friend that he wasn’t allowed to play. That was another thing I added to the mix. After the phone call I followed him upstairs and we made the most awesome Lego Christmas village, complete with a Darth Maul Santa riding a reindeer (horse) and eating pizza while wearing helicopter skis. And we used Lego guys to set up a snowball scene. Photos to follow. Oh wait, I can actually go take one now. Why not. It’s only 1:13 am. Sigh. I actually had already fallen asleep for a few hours, but woke up and have been wide awake for an hour. Time to go back to sleep! Yawn…

Goodnight! I mean, Good Morning!

Screen shot 2014-12-04 at 1.24.31 AM

Screen shot 2014-12-04 at 1.24.21 AM

Screen shot 2014-12-04 at 1.24.09 AM

Leave a Reply

