I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

Glass half empty? Or full of…

Jack and I took a 4-mile bike ride again this morning to get an egg sandwich and a donut (both him). I drank water. Too early for all that food!

We timed ourselves. 15 minutes there, 18 minutes back (lots of hills). Today we beat our arrival time and got it down to 13 minutes. Were we optimistic about the ride home?!!

Jack: Let’s just say we left here a minute earlier than we did and then we’ll get home quicker!

me: Uh…

Jack: Because I know we can beat the last time!

me: Oh so you’re optimistic, eh?

Jack: What does optimistic mean?

me: You don’t know? It’s like being positive about a situation rather than negative. (My little pessimist…) I thought you knew that?

Jack: I didn’t know. It’s not really that and I just want to say we left earlier because I don’t think we’ll beat the time, I’m just saying that.

me: Nooo, let’s be optimistic Jack! Think good thoughts and we can do it!

Jack: Well we’re not, so don’t pester me about all that…

me: Aaand now we’re pessimistic…

Jack starts riding home and along the way I sneak up behind him and pretend to bump his tire. He sees how close I am and squeals as he speeds up to get away from me. I do this a few more times because I like to hear him squeal with faux fright. 🙂

Jack: Okay we’re home. Time check. 

me: 7:42. 

Jack: 12 minutes! We beat our time! I’m getting so strong from the bike rides and taekwondo and sports camp!

me: Told you! You just had to be optimistic (plus my tire bumping helped.)

Jack: Yeah yeah but I’m tired now and there’s no way I’m walking this bike ALL the way up the hill…ugh I’m soooo tired and I’ll just do it later and I’m NOT going in the water at camp no matter what …

…And my glass-is-half-empty boy is back!  

 

Leave a Reply

