Conversations

Yeah, he’s SO street smart!

Jack and I went out for a day of fun, which in this case involved an arcade, ice skating, a trip to the mall, and a lego advent calendar. A boy’s dream day!

And how did it almost end? With Jack plastered on the front of a red sports car like a hood ornament. He literally let go of my hand and sprinted across the parking lot to our car. He’s maybe done that once in 6 and a half years. The lady in the red car almost didn’t see him as she came squealing in. I was yelling all the way across the parking lot, and everyone could see me doling out the big lecture. Just to think if that woman had been going a little faster or if Jack was running a little slower.

To quote a famous comedian (any guesses?) “I brought you into this world, and I’ll take you out!” Meaning, I’m not letting some random car do the deed for me. Sheesh.

me: yadda yadda yadda…And you were almost HIT by that car!

Jack Mom, I’m a kid. I know how to survive in the world.

me: Ha! You barely made it past 3, what with the stitches to your head and the deadly allergies.

Jack: (getting in the car) I’ll never forget the day that YOU decided to get lame.

me: Huh? When?

Jack: Today. (slam!)

14 thoughts on “Yeah, he’s SO street smart!”

    1. Wow and you’re in a totally different generation! LOL! Yeah, this kid is trying to kill me!! I think Bill Cosby said it on his show to one of his kids. Eh, who can remember, but it’s funny!

      Like

  1. That was close! I am glad Jack’s ok. I have to say that I love your blog. I don’t remember how I found it, but I have been coming back to it quite frequently. I love how you and Jack interact, he’s a very smart kid!

    Cheers!
    Camila – your brazilian fan

    Like

  2. EEk. Today I was out and emergency vehicles were in the shopping center parking lot because a woman with a baby strapped to her chest had just been hit by a car there in the lot.

    I am hoping your son is protesting out of embarrassment and that he was secretly a little shaken up, so he won’t do it again.
    When my youngest was little he hated holding hands in parking lots — I had to get a death-grip on him and suffer his clawing and scratching or he would do a runner every time!

    Like

    1. OMG how awful! Yes Jack has done the same to me…claw marks on my arm as I drag him through the lot getting stares from everyone. SIGH! This kid is giving me serious gray hairs. I say that to Jack and he says “Can I see?” ha ha.

      Like

Leave a comment