I couldn't possibly make this sh*t up.

The art of cursive writing

Jack: Why are you writing in code!!?? You know I can’t read that!

me: Sorry, I’m just making notes and this is the quickest way to write. I bet you can read it if you try very hard.

Jack: ARRRGGHH! Stop making R’s that look like N’s.

me: That’s what they look like. Here, I’ll show you the whole alphabet, slowly.

Jack: It all has to connect?

me: Um, I don’t think so, but I guess that’s how I learned to do it.

Jack: You mean someone TAUGHT you to do this? I thought old people were born knowing it.

14 responses

  1. Marie

    Some states are switching from cursive lessons to typing, have you heard that?

    Like

    November 22, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    • I have not! Wow. Well, I knew that they didn’t teach it anymore, but I didn’t think it would really be dead. Hmmm…did you learn it in school, or was it over by then?

      Like

      November 22, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  2. My daughter just learned it last year in third grade (in Texas). Of course, we’re pretty much dead last on following any trend, so that doesn’t say a whole lot for the life expectancy of cursive.

    Like

    November 22, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • I don’t think they even teach it here at all, so what does that say? I’ll have to check…Jack’s only in 2nd grade, so maybe next year!

      Like

      November 23, 2011 at 9:02 am

  3. i love your little boy…always makes me smile.

    they are not teaching cursive here in tx anymore. i was taught at school. but a lot of things are changing in the school let alone this world. we all just have to learn to adjust i suppose. :/

    Like

    November 23, 2011 at 2:45 am

    • Yeah, it’s weird to get old and see things that you took for granted just disappear.

      Like

      November 23, 2011 at 9:03 am

  4. Svannah

    Really??? Crusive is no longer being taught? I have no clue. But i guess it makes sense. Its going to be nuts when the day comes and someone asks me to print or type what I wrote. I like cursive..its quick!

    Like

    November 23, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • I totally agree. Not that anyone can read my handwriting anyway, but it’s quicker for me. I actually mastered the printing/cursive hybrid model when I’m in a real hurry!

      Like

      November 23, 2011 at 9:58 pm

  5. Marie

    Madison learned cursive in third grade, they were required to write in cursive for the whole school year, but not since then.

    Like

    November 25, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    • That’s cuz she’s old! 🙂

      Like

      November 26, 2011 at 9:35 pm

  6. Marie

    11 in two weeks! Hey, wait, doesn’t that make me old too?

    Like

    December 1, 2011 at 11:42 am

    • Oh boy, yeah you’re old! But what about me?? :O

      Like

      December 1, 2011 at 11:12 pm

  7. Loved your post! I will definetly be visiting again. Looking forward to more.

    Like

    December 5, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

